Research Group

Abdelrasoul Research Group

Abdelrasoul Research Group (Fall 2018)

Graduate Students

Arash Mollahosseini (PhD Student)

Arash Mollahosseini started his Ph.D. in the Chemical and Biological Engineering Department at the University of Saskatchewan in September 2018 under the supervision of Dr. Abdelrasoul. His current PhD research focuses on enhancing membrane biocompatibility for biomedical applications. Arash received his M.Sc. degree in Chemical Engineering from Babol (Noshirvani) University of Technology in 2011 and his Master of Business Administration (MBA) from Great School of Management in 2014. His previous experience focused on nanocomposite membranes, ultrafiltration membranes, as well as antibiofouling membranes. In addition to his research and teaching skills, he was able to show achievements in the area of management related to his MBA studies.

Heloisa Westphalen (PhD Student)

Heloisa Westphalen completed her undergraduate degree in Chemical Engineering at Universidade Federal de Pernambuco in 2017. During the undergraduate program, she was awarded with a full scholarship from the Brazilian government to study at Ryerson University for one year. After that, she completed a Master of Applied Science degree at Ryerson University, and she received the M.Sc. Graduate Program Excellence Award for high academic and research achievements (2018). In addition, Heloisa was nominated for the Governor General Golden Medal (2019). Her research focused on the application of membrane technology to industrial wastewater treatment using ultrasound-assisted fouling control. In 2019 she joined Dr. Abdelrasoul’s Research Group as a Ph.D. student and her research goal is to contribute to the advancement of membrane technology in biomedical applications.

Mahboobeh Maghami (MSc Student)

Mahboobeh completed her undergraduate degree in Applied Chemistry at Kashan University (2005). Then, she completed her Master in Inorganic Chemistry at Isfahan University of Technology (2010) under the supervision of Prof. Hadadzadeh. In 2011, she moved to Tehran, Iran and completed her PhD in 2016 at Alzahra University under the supervision of Prof. Farzaneh on Inorganic Nanocatalysts. She joined Prof. MacLachlan’s group in Des. 2014 as a Visiting Scholar at UBC, for developing her thesis and work on different research projects for the synthesis of an unusual macrocycle that exhibits tautomerism. In September 2017, she joined Prof. Abdelrasoul’s group at U of S in Canada. Her current project focuses on the investigation of enhanced water transport across hydrophilic and hydrophobic membranes using molecular dynamics simulations.

Hadia Butt (MSc Student)

Hadia is a recent graduate and obtained her Bachelor’s degree in Chemical and Biological Engineering from the University of Saskatchewan in 2017. For her academic excellence she has received several awards, including the Governor General Academic Medal, Government of Saskatchewan General Proficiency Award, and the Dean’s Honor Roll Award. She decided to continue her graduate studies and join Dr. Abdelrasoul research group, in September 2018, to work on cutting edge research in wastewater treatment using advanced membrane technology. Her goals are to find innovative research solutions that will immediately impact the industrial sector, and to act as a successful role model for women in Engineering (WIE) who can balance between her current job and graduate studies.

Raam Sirigiri (MEng Student)

Raam received his bachelor’s degree in Chemical Engineering from R. V. R. & J. C. Engineering, India, in 2016 with Academic Excellence Award. In addition to Chemical Engineering he has experience in the Pharmaceutical industry. Raam joined Dr. Abdelrasoul research group as a Master of Engineering student in January 2019 in the Chemical and Biological Engineering Department at the University of Saskatchewan. His current interests focus on nanotechnology in biomedical applications.

Research Internship  International Students

Gibrán Saúl Rueda Plá

Gibrán  is currently studying the second to last semester of Chemical Engineering at Instituto Tecnológico de Estudios Superiores Monterrey, in  Mexico (CGPA: 92%) . Along with his studies, he has participated in a research project with Dr. Yamir Bandala Solano, to analyze chemical structures using Gaussian. He is studying instrumental chemistry, since he is interested in characterizing materials. He joined Dr. Abdelrasoul group to apply his knowledge to achieve his research goal in discovering and creating new knowledge. Furthermore, he would like to assess the possibility of conducting the same process on a larger scale and develop a project that can be applied in Mexico.

Research Assistants 

Monica Kwong

Monica Kwong recently completed the undergraduate Chemical Engineering Co-op program at Ryerson University in Toronto, Canada. She chosed to study Chemical Engineering because of the numerous career paths it offers. Since at a young age, she has always had a passion for community involvement, as she feels the most accomplished when she feels that her contributions have made a difference. She has been recognized for her work through several awards such as the Ontario Professional Engineers Foundation for Education Award, Rona Hatt Engineering Ambassador Award in Chemical Engineering, and the Dennis Mock Student Leadership Award.

Maha Akram

Maha Akram is a recent Chemical Engineering graduate from Ryerson University, Toronto, Canada. She has intensive exposure to the industrial experiences through her coop program. Her interest to membrane science and its fascinated technology, started by working with Dr. Abdelrasoul on advanced computational modeling in Toronto. In 2018, Maha joined Dr. Abdelrasoul research to continue her passion for research in membrane science and nanotechnology, and for her interest to apply the gained knowledge in the industry in her future career.

Undergraduate Students

Srija Argumeedi

Srija Argumeedi is an undergraduate student (4th year) at the Chemical and Biological Engineering Department at University of Saskatchewan. She was awarded at the University of Saskatchewan in 2015 for her academic excellence. In addition, she received several awards for demonstrating leadership in the community, including Youth in Philanthropy Award (2014), Federated Limited Scholarship (2015), and Russell Memorial Award. (2018). She joined Dr. Abdelrasoul group in 2018 for her interest in nanomaterials. She aims to contribute to the ongoing research, to solve health and environmental problems.